Watford based 4 piece The Spitfires release a brand new single “Something Worth Fighting For” via Hatch Records on September the 28th as a limited edition 7 inch vinyl and digital download.

The Spitfires consist of songwriter Billy Sullivan on lead vocals and guitar, Sam Long on Bass/backing vocals, Matt Johnson on drums and George Moorhouse on keyboards.

The band have always fused a wide range of influences from reggae and ska through to punk and soul and this melting-pot of musical genres has not only helped infuse but also consolidate the band’s own highly authentic sound and style.

Taken from their massive third album Year Zero (which reached No 8 in the UK Vinyl Chart), “Something Worth Fighting For” is a 4 minute tale of trying to escape the day to day suburban life that The Spitfires have always reflected in their music.

“Get a new job, buy the car of your dreams,
But now you ain’t really sure what it really all means
We work, we pay, we all die the same
It’s up to us to find a way to make things change”


Material possessions, going out drinking or remembering your first love won’t make anything better, it’s up to you to find the way out!

Strong, relevant lyrics and social commentary with a heavy dub/reggae backdrop and powerful use of the horn section immediately made this one of the stand out tracks on what has become one of Merc’s most played album releases of this year. A single release was inevitable!


“You spend your life,
hoping that someone,
provides a different outcome,
to these mundane ways”


It’s the sound of day to day life, where normality and boredom become a way of life, and the need to escape before it becomes acceptable.


Photo by Neil McCarty


Fresh, new and exciting, The Spitfires have crafted another immediately catchy anthem that will sit perfectly among their ever growing and ever impressive back catalogue.

With its Dub/Reggae/Ska feel and sing-along chorus this promises to be a highlight  on their upcoming “Year Zero” Tour starring in October (dates at the bottom ) which Merc wholeheartedly urges you to get involved with. One of the most exciting live acts on the circuit in our opinion.

The Spitfires are a young British band, whose love of the British Subcultures drives them forwards instead of trying to revisit past glories.
With a fiercely loyal and ever growing following, these are ones we recommend you look out for!




Live Dates:
Fri 05 Oct - Southend, Chinnerys
Sat 06 Oct - Norwich, Arts Centre
Fri 02 Nov - Dover, Booking Hall
Sat 03 Nov - Brighton, Patterns
Fri 09 Nov - Leamington Spa, Zephyr Lounge
Sat 10 Nov - London, Islington Assembly Hall
Thu 15 Nov - Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
Fri 16 Nov - Glasgow, Broadcast
Sat 17 Nov - Edinburgh, Mash House
Fri 23 Nov - Bristol, Fiddlers
Sat 24 Nov - Exeter, Cavern
Thu 29 Nov - Newcastle, Cluny
Fri 30 Nov - Carlisle, Old Fire Station
Fri 07 Dec - Leeds, Hi Fi Club
Sat 08 Dec - Northampton, Roadmender
Fri 25 Jan – Belfast, Limelight 2
Sat 26 Jan – Dublin, Workman’s Club
Fri 08 Feb - Sheffield, Plug
Sat 09 Feb - Manchester, Gorilla
Fri 15 Feb - Hull, Fruit
Sat 16 Feb - York, Fibbers
Fri 22 Feb - Cardiff, The Globe
Sat 23 Feb - Liverpool, Academy 2


Words by Richie Kyle